My Journey towards the Spiritual Path

My today’s post is dedicated to my beloved parents for I am what I am today because of them!

As how it is difficult to distinguish spirituality from our daily routines, it is as well difficult to mark when exactly we begin our introspection on this subject. Theoretically, it dates back to the year 2002 when I joined as a member of Yogada satsanga Society of India. I felt Sri Sri Paramahansa Yogananda’s divine grace through his Autobiography of a Yogi. His teachings and writings conveyed that through Kriya yoga one is sure to be led towards the path of truth as it is scientifically proved as well. Though he is not in his physical form now, he has been my silent Guru from then.

In spite of carrying life’s burdens and difficulties, I developed a great discipline for regular and sincere spiritual practices then. So was the impression of his teachings and lessons. However, maya did not let me continue for long. I was once again blinded by the three-fold sufferings (Physical, mental and spiritual) and my practices withered away with the wind. My earthly duties kept me occupied day and night. Probably it was Guruji’s plan to make me understand the values of Karma yoga. Well, however I kept dwelling on God and did practices whenever possible.

Kriya Initiation

Now that I have fulfilled my most duties, I am here again to start my spiritual journey. In the last one and a half years, I prepared myself once again to walk through the divine path. And today, I feel honoured to have received my Kriya initiation (Kriya diksha). I bow down to God, my Guru, my Paramgurus and seek their blessings and guidance on this saintly day.

What joy and contentment in that once again my soul is marching towards the path of eternity!

A few quotes that I read today:

Compassion toward all beings (daya) is necessary for divine realization, for God Himself is overflowing with this quality. Those with a tender heart can put themselves in the place of others, feel their suffering, and try to allievate it.

– Sri Sri Paramahansa Yogananda from God talks with Arjuna – The Bhagavad Gita

Whether the highest Being is called Vishnu, Shiva, Brahma or Indra, Sun or Moon, Buddha or Mahavira, I always offer my salutations to Him alone who is free from attachment and hatred, worldliness and ignorance, who is endowed with compassion toward all creatures and is possessed of all noble attributes.

– Reprinted from Kalyanapurana

Photo Courtesy: http://a3.ec-images.myspacecdn.com/

Author: vedvyash

Writing is something that helped me discover the creativity and the expressionism that was hidden under the deep layers of my soul. And me!

2 thoughts on “My Journey towards the Spiritual Path”

Leave a Reply

