Sayings of Paramahansa Yogananda

“God tries us in all ways”, the Master said. “He exposes our weaknesses, that we may become aware of them and transmute them in to strengths. He may send us ordeals that appear insupportable; He may sometimes seem almost to be pushing us away. But the clever devotee will say:

“No, Lord, I want Thee. Nothing shall deter me in my search. My heartfelt prayer is this: Never put me through the test of obliviousness of Thy presence.”

“Sir, shall I ever leave the spiritual path?” inquired a doubt- filled disciple. The Master answered: “How could you? Everyone in the world is on the spiritual path:”

” Sir, give me the grace of devotion,” a disciple asked pleadingly.

“In effect, you are saying: ‘ give me money, so I can buy what I want,” the Master replies. “But I say: ‘ No, first you have to earn the money.Then you may rightfully enjoy what you buy.”

“What a ¬†responsibility one assumes when he tries to improve people!” exclaimed the Master.”The rose in the vase looks beautiful; one forgets all the gardening work that helped to make it beautiful. And if one must take pains in order to have a lovely rose, how much more effort is required to produce a perfect human being!”

“Don’t mix with others too closely,” the Master said.”Friendships do not satisfy us unless they are rooted in mutual love for the Lord.

“There are three types of devotees,” the Master said. “Believers who attend church and are satisfied; believers who live an upright life but make no effort to achieve oneness with God; and believers who are determined to discover their true identity.”

Asked to define Self- realization, the Master said:

“Self- realization is the knowing– in body, mind, and soul- that we are one with the Omnipresence of God; that we do not have to pray that it come to us, that we are not merely near it at all times, but that God’s omnipresence is our omnipresence; that we are just as much a part of Him now as we ever will be. All we have to do is improve our knowing.”

 

Author: vedvyash

Writing is something that helped me discover the creativity and the expressionism that was hidden under the deep layers of my soul. And me!

Leave a Reply

