How I navigated through Internet in my early days?!

As a person of the older generation, it wasn’t easy to navigate through the myriads of terms and usage of the internet during my beginner days. As a matter of fact, I was new to computers as well. Hear how my early goof-ups led to my mastering of the art of browsing.

The Art of Double-clicking

Seems funny today, but it took me a while for my fingers to get adapted to click twice without a pause. My fingers wouldn’t work that quick in the beginning. No matter how fast I tried, there would always be a time gap between the clicks. And when I could finally learn, the Internet Explorer icon gave way to a blank screen.

Learning to reach Google

  1. Identifying the address bar

As with anybody, my first lesson was Google. I couldn’t locate the address bar easily at one go. I always had a confusion of where to begin typing. An important key point to note here is that unless I do a click on the address bar, the blinking cursor wouldn’t appear on the address bar. Most often I would begin typing Google, without moving the cursor on the address bar and I would wonder where all that I type disappears to. Again, in a while, I understood that I need to follow the blinking cursor every time when I want to type.

     2. Learning to type

It wasn’t as easy as I imagined it to be. For the alphabets, I could somehow manage to find each of it slowly. However, when I did a mistake and had to go back, it took sometime to locate the backspace button on my keyboard. And the space bar too!

     3. Reaching Google finally

So I did type Google! The easiest was to hit ‘search’. Yay! There was Google in front of me. I entered my first-ever key words for search and in seconds there was a list of so many stuff about what I searched for.

Operating Email

I have no clue of how it was done because my email account was created by my daughter. For some reason navigating through the email functions was relatively easier than operating the address bar. The most happening realization about my username and password came to me after a few days of opening the account. When an acquaintance had asked me for my email address, I gave her both my username and password, assuming she would require my password to read the emails I send it. Yes, ironically funny! But I was once like that 😉

However, technology isn’t difficult to master. As I type this post, I have several tabs open at the same time, whee I do multi-tasking of managing my email, Facebook updates and blogging. Sounds great for someone who didn’t know typing, isn’t it?

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.

Author: vedvyash

Writing is something that helped me discover the creativity and the expressionism that was hidden under the deep layers of my soul. And me!

Leave a Reply

